“In Times Like These, Our Hearts Beat as One”-Veteran and Author Roger Mannon

The Faces of Quarantine-One Virus Many Faces

Tami Shaikh
3 min readApr 4, 2020

I am worried but hopeful.
Worried because I am in my 70s, I have both COPD and Asthma. My lungs were damaged by on-again, off-again smoking for several years but mostly by breathing Agent Orange for 2 1/2 years in Vietnam. I am also hopeful because so many folks seem to be trying to do the right thing to “flatten the curve.” Maybe we, as a culture, are not the greedy little shits we so often seem to be.
My daily life has definitely changed. The most obvious is that we have sheltered ourselves inside the house. We don’t get to see our children or grandchildren just now. And, we have also set aside living space in the basement bedroom just in case we need to separate from each other.

I don’t think we are doing the best we can to get rid of this virus. There are still a substantial number of deniers, people who believe it all to be a hoax or the younger ones who think they’re immortal.

I really don’t know how the world will change. I want to believe we (all of us) will realize…

--

--

Tami Shaikh

Author of 3 books, Contributor to Huffington Post, Thrive Global, & Chicken Soup for the Soul. Life is full of stories; I like to tell them. www.tamishaikh.com