I Got Covid; You Can Too

A university student from Colorado talks about his COVID experience.

Tami Shaikh
3 min readDec 15, 2020

I got COVID in October, and even before the test results came in, I knew I had the virus. It started with fatigue, and after the second day of being exhausted, I couldn’t even get out of bed. It wasn’t regular “being tired” because nothing helped. Usually, when I have a final or something, and I’m exhausted from studying, I always drink coffee, which usually helps but this time, it didn't. I live with four other roommates, and all of us were feeling sick. When I finally got tested, the result was positive, and I was unsure of how to feel. I am an optimistic person, but I also knew that the virus affects everyone differently; there were many unknowns. I also had many other symptoms, including a type of headache that was something I had never felt before. It was a combination of a sinus and stress headache that grabbed the top of my head while pushing down on my eyeballs.

My family lives in California, and I was alone in Boulder, Colorado. I locked myself up in my room and just slept all day. My mother was worried and wanted to come and be with me, but I told her not to.

I think the worst part about having covid is the emotional downward spiral that I went through. I kept telling myself that I would be fine, and I knew I would be ok. But…

--

--

Tami Shaikh

Author of 3 books, Contributor to Huffington Post, Thrive Global, & Chicken Soup for the Soul. Life is full of stories; I like to tell them. www.tamishaikh.com